Canadian Nautical Research Society

Société canadienne pour la recherche nautique


About us


    The Northern Mariner





Members' Books

Contact Us


| English | français |

Executive Officers and Councillors

President: Michael Moir
1st Vice-President: Thomas Malcomsom
2nd Vice-President: Ian Yeates
Treasurer: Errolyn Humphreys
Secretary: Roger Sarty
Membership Secretary: Sam McLean
Councillor (Communications): Winston Scoville
Councillor: Ambjörn Adomeit
Councillor: Isabel Campbell
Councillor: Richard Goette
Councillor: Walter Lewis
Councillor: Jeff Noakes
Councillor: Christopher Perry
Councillor: Margaret Schotte
Past President: Richard Gimblett

Ex Officio and Honorary Members

Chair, Editorial Board: Roger Sarty
Chair, Matthews Awards Committee: Bill Glover
Honorary Member: W.A.B. Douglas
Honorary Member: Barry Gough
Honorary Member: Faye Kert

Presidents of the CNRS

The Canadian Society for the Promotion of Nautical Research was formed at a meeting held at the University of Ottawa on 10 June 1982. Professor Keith Matthews of the Memorial University of Newfoundland was in the chair, and became the first president. He died early in 1984. On 25 October 1984 the society was incorporated under federal statute as the Canadian Nautical Research Society.

  • 1982 - 1984 Professor Keith Matthews, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 1984 - 1987 Professor Gerald Panting, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 1987 - 1990 Professor Barry Gough, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • 1990 - 1993 Dr W.A.B. Douglas, Directorate of History, Department of National Defence
  • 1993 - 1996 Dr Faye Kert, Department of Health and Welfare
  • 1996 - 1999 Mr G. Edward Reed, Bank of Canada
  • 1999 - 2002 Dr William Glover, Kingston, Ontario
  • 2002 - 2005 Professor James Pritchard, Professor Emeritus, Queen's University
  • 2005 - 2008 Dr Richard Gimblett, Ottawa, Ontario
  • 2008 - 2011 Dr Paul Adamthwaite, Picton, Ontario
  • 2011 - 2014 Mr Maurice D. Smith, Kingston, Ontario
  • 2014 - 2017 Dr Chris Madsen, North Vancouver, BC
  • 2017 - 2020 Dr Richard Gimblett, Port Hope, Ontario
  • 2020 -      Mr Michael Moir, York University


Canadian Nautical Research Society - Société canadienne pour la recherche nautique
P.O. Box 34029
Ottawa, Ontario
K2J 5B1

Copyright © 2011-2020, CNRS / SCRN.

Last revised: 23 September 2020
Technology by Stormy Weather